Sunday, June 21, 2009

Mayor Treñas Reg’l Arnis Cup Huge Success By: James U. Sy Jr.

The Mayor Jerry P. Treñas Regional Arnis Cup 2009 Regional Arnis Tournament was successfully held by the Arnis Philippines (ArPi)-Iloilo City Chapter under Commissioner Bonnie A. Celendro with the full support of the Iloilo City Government under Hon. Mayor Jerry P. Treñas last recently at the Robinson’s Place, Iloilo City, Panay.

About 260 players from Ajuy, Bacolod City, Bago City, Barotac Nuevo, Concepcion, Dumangas, Iloilo City, Passi City, Pavia, Pototan, Roxas City, and Sta. Barbara among others competed in the Batang Pinoy, Juniors Boys’ and Girls’, and Seniors Men’s and Women’s categories for Labanan (Full Contact) and individual events for solo and doble bastons and team competition for Anyo (Forms) Divisions.

Arnis Philippines (ArPi)-Bacolod/Negros Occidental Chapter under the leadership of Commissioner Grandmaster Atty. Col. Marcelo C. Jalandoon, Ph.D., took home a 13-9-1 medal haul. The Negros Occidental contingent was represented by the Hon. Mayor Ramon D. Torres-sponsored Bago City Team/Negros United Fighting Arts Academy (NUFAA) of Founder/Grandmaster Jose “Joe” B. Mancesa and its President Eliseo Yanong Sr. and the Bacolod Team/KaliSilat Arnis Association (KAA) of Founder/Grandmaster Danilo “Danny” Cardinal.

FULL CONTACT - Batang Pinoy: Gold medalists were BG Abadia of Pototan Bastonero, Angelo Joshua Abian of Concepcion, Lance Adriel of Roxas City, Xyrile John Alcaria of Pototan, Paulo Allado of Mayor Jerry P. Treñas Arnis Team (MJPTAT), Joshua Amar of MJPTAT, Noreen Amar of MJPTAT, Marc Efraem Anahan of Roxas City, Adrian M. Arca of Black Scorpion Arnis (Aklan), Fedrik Lance Bonitillo of Pototan, Phil James Cagasan of CASASAI (ISC), Jesk Marie Sunz Caluste of MJPTAT, Paul Allister Carmelo of Pototan, Jerelyn Caseres of MJPTAT, Jules Albert Castro of Pototan, Janter Catunaw of CASASAI Dumangas, Kenneth Celendro of MJPTAT, Jared Winstone Celoso of Pavia Bastonero, Winstone John Celoso of Pavia Bastonero, Oscar Dalmacio of CASASAI (ISC), Leowind Dass of Pototan, Joshua Delfin of Lightning Scientific Arnis International-Philippine Dynamic Arnis (LSAI-PDA) (11-12 years old), Khristine Mae Divicaiz of Pototan, Crystal John Jarsiolen of Lapaz District,
Rhea Joy Guinez of Concepcion Arnis Team (CAT), Ma. Denise Hilario of Pavia, James Darel Hilay of Arevalo District, Dumar Jamandre of Arevalo District, Benze Gabriel Janoto of Pavia, Rutchebelle Javier of Pavia, John Angelo Jolor of Pavia, Bryan Laala of CASASAI, G. Lacorita of LSAI-PDA (9-10 years old), Rholenz Lacorita of LSAI-PDA (6-8 years old), Ralf Kindle John de Leon of IMAFP Iloilo, Lin Easter Manahan of Roxas City, John Emmanuel Namud of Concepcion, Relen Faith Navaro of Traditional Philippine Arnis (TPA), Kurt Nietes of Arevalo District, Jason Osabel of MJPTAT, John Kenneth Paranga of CASASAI Barotac Nuevo, Kenneth Paranga of CASASAI Barotac Nuevo, Wenna Dale Pasquin of Roxas City, Leobert Patos of Pototan, Earl Pinas of MJPTAT, Ivan Pinas of MJPTAT, Charles Vincent Presente of PAT, Ferbie Ann Ramos of MJPTAT, Justine Regala of Filamer Arnis Team (Roxas City), Dhondy Reyes of LSAI-PDA (9-10 years old), Charles Rivera of MJPTAT, Elen Mae Sabalusa, Jereco Santiago of Pavia, John Kevin Sapio of Arevalo District, Christine Joy Saquilon of CAT, John Carl Seguiter of CASASAI (ISC), Christofer Tala of WVCST CASASAI, Eira Mae Tanaliga of MJPTAT, Evron Rey Tibajares of Arevalo District, Christian James Torre of LSAI-PDA (9-10 years old), Crystal Torre of LSAI-PDA (9-10 years old), Cyril John Torre of Lapaz Arnis Team, and Ivan Tropico of MJPTAT.

Gold medalists for the Labanan (Full Contact) Division, Seniors Men category were
Gian Karlo Demaisip (66 kg. and up), Christopher Dimalawan (55-60 kg.), Andres Limbo (60-65 kg.), and Eugene Sonusta (51 kg. and below). LSAI-PDA took the 3rd place for the Team category.

Winning two titles in the Anyo (Forms) Division, Individual event was Jessica Colmenares (senior women’s solo baston and doble baston) while Mary Cathlene Dayon got the bronze (Batang Pinoy girls double baston).

Participating teams were Black Scorpion Arnis (Aklan) under Aklan Commissioner Alejandro P. Arca Jr., CASASAI under Master Lino Baldevarona, Concepcion Arnis Team (CAT), Filamer Arnis Team (Roxas City) under Master Marco Manahan, International Modern Arnis Federation, Philippines (IMAFP)-Iloilo under Master de Leon, Lightning Scientific Arnis International-Philippine Dynamic Arnis (LSAI-PDA) under Grandmaster Rogelio H. Galvarole, Mayor Jerry P. Treñas Arnis Team (MJPTAT)/Dinagyang Bastonero of Iloilo Commissioner Bonnie Celendro, Pavia Bastonero under Master Arthuro Guarnes, Philippine Tiger Martial Arts under Master Erwin Pamplona, Pototan Bastonero under Master Nathaniel Tanjay, Roxas City, and Traditional Philippine Arnis (TPA).

1 comment:

edward said...

hi i am edward from iloilo city i am interested to attend arnis session kindly emial me at