Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Tay Tung's Diesto Brings Home 3 Golds for NOPSSCEA By: James U. Sy Jr.

Mary Anthony M. Diesto (B: 1997) of Bacolod Tay Tung High School (BTTHS) gave NOPSSCEA 3 of 4 gold medals for elementary girls athletics after two days of competition in the Palarong Panlalawigan 2009 at the Panaad Stadium and Recreational Park, Brgy. Mansilingan, Bacolod City.

Diesto had a registered time of 13.70 to capture the gold in the 100 meter dash, besting the 13.78 of Area III's Jeremae Riego and the 14.10 of Ma. Cristina Jaro. In the long jump competition, Diesto got 4.48 M as compared to the 4.41 M of magluyan and 4.20 M of Area I's Ritcel Mae Bolo. In the triple jump event, Diesto garnered 9.72 M, ahead of the 9.22 M of Bolo and the 8.89 M of Jinky Biating.

Raye Ferrer gave NOPSSCEA its other gold medal with a registered time of 28.40 in the 200 meter run event, besting the 29.20 of Riego and the 29.45 of Jennifer Asumbrada.

Diesto, the daughter of Winston and Norene M. Diesto, is a grade 6 pupil at the Bacolod Tay Tung High School (BTTHS), one of the three Chinese schools in Bacolod City.

Diesto's official coach is Rolando Malate but her personal trainer is her father, Winston Diesto, himself an alumni of BTTHS (Batch 1984).

Diesto, along with Mitchelle Morales, was named Most valuable Player (MVP) during the awarding ceremony of the 34th United Cup Track & field Meet held by the Filipino Chinese Amateur Athletic Federation last April 4-5, 2009 at the Rizal memorial coliseum, Manila.

During the 2009 NOPSSCEA Athletics Meet last October 3-4, 2009 at the Manuel Y. Torres Sports Center, Bago City, Diesto won 6 golds and established 4 new records. She broke Harumi Kiwagaya's (TCS) previous record of 3.89 (2008) M with her 4.03 M for the long jump event; her own record of 8.05 M (2008) with her new 8.43 M record for the triple jump; BTTHS Team's 1:02:27 (2008) with her team's 0:59:94 in the 4 x 100 M relay; and Shaira Hernandez's (BTTHS) 14.80 (2007) with her 13.41 in the 100 M dash. Diesto's two other gold medals were in classical relay (3:01:24) and 4 x 400 M relay (5:83:24).