Thursday, February 7, 2008


Hon. Mayor Janet E. Torres

Bago City, with the leadership of Mayor Janet E. Torres and the Bago City Tourism Office, gave a welcome dinner to the 23rd Southeast Asian (SEA) Games boxing delegates last November 27, 2005 at the Manuel Y. Torres Memorial Coliseum and Cultural Center, Bago City.

Dignitaries present include SEA Games delegation heads, Bacolod City First Lady Elsa Leonardia, Lone District of Bacolod first Lady Josefa “Patching” Puentebella, Board Member Mae Javellana, Amateur Boxing Association of the Philippines (ABAP) President Manny Lopez, BASOC representatives, and other government officials.

Bago City, the boxing capital of the Philippines, is home to the first Filipino boxer brothers who won medals in the Olympic Games: 1992 Barcelona Olympics bronze medalist Roel Velasco and 1996 Atlanta Olympics silver medalist Mansueto ‘Onyok” Velasco. Other boxers from Bago who made it to the Olympics were Larry Semillano (2000 Sydney Olympics), Reynaldo Galido, and Isidro Vicera Jr. (1992 Barcelona Olympics).

The RP Boxing Team for the 23rd SEA Games includes 6 Negrense sluggers, namely Joegen Ladon of Bago City, Juanito Maliqiuan of Talisay City, Mitchell Martinez of Bago City, Mark Jason Meliquen of Talisay City, Warlito Parreñas of Cadiz City, and Joan Tipon of Talisay City.

Others in the RP Team are Annie Albania of Marbel, Alice Kate Aprarri of Baguio, Genebert Basadre of Cagayan de Oro, Romeo Brin, Jouvelit Chilem, Reynaldo Galido, and Harry Tañamor.

Team heads are Glecerio Catolico (women) and Patricio Caspe (men). Assistant Coach is Roel Velasco.

For more info on Bago City, please visit

No comments: